The University of Eastern Africa, Baraton  graduated seven doctors of philosophy  in Education. Five of them graduated in Educational administration, and the other two graduated in curriculum and teaching. The new Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree holders for the specialization in Educational Administration are Dr. Kasyoka Regina Kaume, Dr. Jane Kemunto Nyabuti, Dr. Millicent Adhiambo Ojwan’g, Dr. Richard Kipkemei  Tuimur, and Dr. Ernest Kipsumei Yegoh. Those who graduate with a specialization in Curriculum and Teaching are Dr. Catherine Adhiambo Amimo and Dr. Paul Kiplagat respectively.  These seven make up the first cohort of graduates in the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree programme at the University.

The   seven graduated on Sunday 9th August, 2015 in the 33rd Graduation ceremony of the University which was graced by the Deputy President of the Republic of - Kenya H.E. William Ruto and the Cabinet Secretary for Education, Science and Technology - Hon Professor Jacob Kayimenyi, The University Chancellor Dr. Elder Blacious Makira Ruguri, the University Vice-Chancellor – Prof. Philip Maiyo and other government and church dignitaries.

The Doctor of Philosophy in Education degree programme with specializations in (1) Educational Administration and (2) Curriculum and Teaching was accredited by the Commission for University Education of Kenya in 2011, after having been accrediting by the Adventist Accrediting Association in 2009.

The Doctor of Philosophy degree programme at the University of Eastern African, Baraton takes a minimum of three and half years and a maximum of seven years. It is offered in course work, examination, and thesis. It admits applicants with a Master’s degree in or with Education from any government recognized university.

By Prof.Yona Balyage, PhD
Director of Quality Assurance