3rd Annual Baraton International Interdisciplinary Research Conference

We praise God for the success of the 3rd annual Baraton international interdisciplinary research conference held on April 12-14, 2016 at the Baraton Community Training and Research Center.  The theme of this year’s conference is Towards Excellence in Research and Innovation in the Contemporary World.

Prof. Phillip Maiyo, UEAB Vice Chancellor, welcomed the participants and opened the conference.  Prof. Judith Achoka, Director of Research and Extension of Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology, presented the keynote address.  She emphasized on the need for excellence in research and innovation in developing countries, especially in Kenya. 

Each day of the conference started with worshipping God through singing and listening to His Word.  Dr. Rei Kesis, Dr. Nicholas Onyango, and Mrs. Beatrice Idowu shared devotional messages.

The plenary session paper, Practical Strategies to Get a Manuscript Published, on the first day was presented via Skype by Prof. Safary Wa-Mbaleka from Adventist International Institute of Advanced Studies in the Philippines.  He is the president of Asian Qualitative Research Association.  The other two plenary session papers, Literature Review Factor and its Placement Phenomenon in the Research Process and Editing Research Articles for Publication, were presented by Prof. Lazarus Ndiku from UEAB Department of Educational Administration, Curriculum, and Teaching and Prof. Elizabeth Role, Director of Graduate Studies and Research of UEAB, respectively.

There were 166 research conference participants, coming from Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Malawi, Zimbabwe, and the Philippines, who interacted with each other in a professional and friendly manner. 

Of the sixty-one (61) papers presented, 41 were by UEAB faculty and staff, 11 by researchers from other universities in Kenya, Rwanda, and Uganda, 5 by UEAB PhD in Education students, and 4 by UEAB undergraduate students.

The Research Conference Steering Committee, led by Prof. Nehemiah Nyaundi, Chair of the University Research Committee, Prof. Elizabeth Role, and Prof. Korso Gude Butucha, Deputy Vice Chancellor - Academics, wishes to thank the University Administration, Kenya Commercial Bank, Equity Bank, National Commission for Science, Technology, and Innovation, and BITSA Club for their support.  The concerted effort of the steering committee and sub-committee members, secretariat, audio-visual department, conference venue coordinators, session chairs, rapporteurs, and management of Baraton Community Training and Research Center contributed to the success of the conference.